Jan 19, 2016
AWARD Scientists Elected as Members to Prestigious Society of Biology

Six AWARD Fellows have received complimentary five-year memberships to the U.K.-based Society of Biology, a prestigious learned society which has 14,000 members worldwide.

Jon Kudlick, Director of Membership, Marketing & Communications at the Society of Biology, says: “We are extremely pleased to welcome these scientists as members and to support this innovative scheme that prepares women for influential leadership roles in the African agricultural sector.”

The new members are:

Dr. Mary Mamle Apetorgbo
Senior Research Scientist, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Forestry Research Institute of Ghana

Dr. Hewan Demissie Degu
Assistant Professor, Dilla University, Ethiopia

Dr. Nessie Dietrich Luambano
Principal Agricultural Research Officer II, Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Cooperatives, Sugarcane Research Institute, TZ

Dr. Delphina Peter Mamiro
Senior Lecturer, Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania

Dr.Pauline Mounjouenpou
Senior Researcher, Institut de Recherche Agricole pour le Développement, Cameroon

Dr. Nina Nawanjaya Wambiji
Research Officer I, Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute

“Thank you so much to AWARD for the recommendation towards my selection as a Member of the Society of Biology,” says Mary Apetorgbor. “I hope to honour this recognition by working hard to increase my visibility and network as a society member.”

Dr. Josephine Songa, AWARD’s Acting Science Coordinator, says, “AWARD is most grateful to the Society for the outstanding opportunity the selected scientists will have to collaborate with peers in their areas of research, as well as the access to scientific information and resources that are available only to members, and to publish in the Society’s highly respected journal.”

Read more about the?Society of Biology


African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD). Hosted by World Agroforestry Centre, United Nations Avenue, Gigiri. P.O Box 30677-00100 Nairobi, Kenya.

Email: awardqueries@cifor-icraf.org | Tel: +254 (0) 20 722 4242