Second Cohort of the Pan-African AWARD Fellows Selected

We are pleased to announce that the 2019 AWARD Fellows have now been selected. Following a rigorous competitive process that commenced in September 2018, 24 outstanding women scientists from nine francophone and four anglophone African countries have been offered the Pan-African AWARD Fellowship. The countries include Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sénégal, Tanzania and Togo.

In 2017, African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) launched the Pan-African AWARD Fellowship to extend the benefits of its flagship initiative— the AWARD Fellowship— to women agricultural scientists from francophone Africa and to maximize interactions between women scientists from different linguistic and cultural backgrounds. The AWARD Fellowship is a career development initiative that invests in the continent’s leading women agricultural scientists to ensure a growing cohort of capable, confident and influential African women scientists is available to drive critical advances and innovations for the agricultural sector.

Since 2008, the AWARD Fellowship has equipped 493 leading women agricultural researchers (AWARD Fellows) from 23 countries with leadership skills and exceptional scientific skills and has fostered mentoring partnerships among them. The fellowship has also directly benefited 785 individuals who have served as AWARD mentors and fellows’ mentees.

The 2019 AWARD Fellowship will commence with a mentoring orientation workshop which will be held in Nairobi in February 2019.

Profiles of the 2019 AWARD Fellows who hail from 24 institutions will be published here after the mentoring orientation workshop.

See profiles of previous AWARD Fellows.